Australian Pallette by George Roca

RED

Red Flag,
Red Star, Red Army Red Banner, red eggs,
red lipstick Red Cross, red blood. and then: Soviet red,
Chinese red…

Why God, do I currently see
only red
in front of my eyes?
Olé!

RED AND BLACK

The red-faced
toreador dressed
in a red toga With red clothes With red boots
thrusts the black spear into the black bull.

The wicked heart of the criminal
is black like
the skin of the slain
bull.

BLACK AND WHITE

I read in the white of your eyes that you don’t love me
not even like the black under your fingernails.

The purple bags under my eyes,
the fruits of white nights, became black
crying
in the blues.

GREEN

“Raw green,
raw green…”
sung a poet hidden within a book sitting
near a Babbitt idling
on a green meadow greener
than the greenery of the green greened
in green trees stroked
by a spring
shower.

